Day one of getting lost

First day walking through the city.

So we (me and fellow housemate Riccardo) set out to go see La Sagrada Familia (it is two blocks from the apartment).  We somehow ended up close to the harbour – which is a 1.5hr walk from our apartment. It was fun though…getting lost in a city where I do not understand a word said to me but somehow smiling back seems to get me what I want! I do need to start taking Spanish/Catalan lessons though…smiling won’t work for the whole year.

I wish I could explain in detail how today felt…completely surreal…Barcelona is a city of many contradictions.

Obviously the architecture is the first thing that comes to mind – Gaudi’s madness/creativity juxtaposed against contemporary buildings.

But even when you walk down the street, you can find a H&M store next door to a cute vintage shop, or even more funny a KFC and McDonalds right opposite one of the more famous fresh food markets  on La Ramblas.

Not forgetting the hair salon advertising “black hairstyles” for white people! Got me so excited…I have a place where I can do my hair!

Good way to start off the Barcelona experience…perhaps I will walk to La Sagrada Familia tomorrow. If not, I will probably end up spending the day on some other small nook in the city.

One thought on “Day one of getting lost

  1. Pingback: Amedar Consulting

Leave a comment